Tags

,

Welcome!  It’s super hilarious that my first post on this blog be about clothes.  While I love fashion, I am by no means fashionable.  I wear jeans and a t-shirt or tank pretty much every day.  But I’m working on it.

My friend Maureen just started a new blog and man, is she awesome.  She posted a few of her favorites for spring and the J. Crew City Mini made the cut.  It reminded me…

Almost 2 years ago I saw this tutorial on the blog Growing Home.  I knew it was on par with my sewing skills and I LOVE the look of this skirt.  In fact, I’d been eying the same J. Crew skirt in all its many forms but couldn’t bear to pay so much for it.  Thank you Elisabeth for knocking it off and outta the park with a great tutorial on how to create your own “Flirt skirt” for a fraction of the cost!

Image

I made a few teensy changes in the sizing by adding an inch and a half to the length.  This gave me a slightly longer skirt (I’m 5′ 8″ and spend a lot of time bending over to pick up my kids) and a little bit fuller ruffle than the Growing Home version.

And speaking of the ruffle top, that is one of my favorite bits of this skirt.  That accent makes the fact that it is elastic waisted (aka, I can eat as many brownies as I want while rocking it) super cool.  I styled it with a belt here but its just a cute without.  I’ll have to do a remix for you next time I wear it! (Probably with a racerback tank because they are my FAVORITEST EVER!!!)

The other thing I love is the fact that it has POCKETS!!!  Now that my girls are out of diapers, I love being able to toss my phone and keys into my pockets and leave the bulky bag in the car.  Plus, I look super chic when I put my hands in my pock-pocks (yes, my kids shorten every word on the planet which has rubbed off on me. E just told me the other day that she wanted to go buy some growsh… yeah.  That means groceries.).  Speaking of my girls, my other daughter, who is 5, took these pics.  Didn’t she do a great job?  I’ll have to feature some of her “work” some time.

Image

And I LOVE the contrast that the pockets add when they peek out.  They lay really flat most of the time but turning the direction of the stripe gives it a little extra somethin, somethin.  Elisabeth used a contrasting fabric.  Also SO cute.

Image

The best part.  I paid less than $12 for the fabric and elastic.  Seriously.  It doesn’t get much better than this.  I chose the black railroad stripe because it’s a hot spring trend this year (here, here, here, and here) and I love wearing black tops.  I’m going to attempt to make another skirt in a jersey knit.  We’ll see how that plays out.  I don’t have a serger and I’m not a great seamstress so trust me when I tell you it was super simple.  You can do it too!

Go.  Make this skirt.  Right now.

Why are you still here and not sewing?

blogsignature

