Tags

, , ,

frontdoorafter


Four bloggers put out the challenge. I accepted. And answered.

A few days late.

Pinterest Challenge

I showed you my less than thrilling foyer/entry last week. The freshly painted door and new accent rug helped jazz up the area a bit, but that BIG, BLANK wall was still leaving the space a little lackluster.

I tossed around the idea of a plate wall, letter wall, and/or ceiling medallion wall for the space (check these out on Pinterest because I still love them all and they could still make their way into my house), but in the end, I wanted it to be more personal so I created some embroidery hoop “art” that has special meaning to me. Here are the inspiration pins…

frontinspiration

medallions / fabric hoops / framed G / valentine embroideryplate wall / L wall

Here’s a little before, progress, and after view to remind you where I started.

frontdoorcollage3

I’m so happy with how it turned out! And so proud of myself for learning to embroider and making my own original designs in LESS THAN A WEEK!

I used the Martha Stewart Embroidery How-To to figure out what in the world I was doing. I’d stitched a few things here and there and sewn on my machine a lot, but I wanted this to look GOOD so I took a little extra time to get some expert info.

Here’s a shot of each piece.

frontallhoops

And I’ll work my way around clockwise from the top to let you know what each piece means and why I love it!

frontmexicoembroidery

This first one represents where I met my sweet husband. We were both spring-breaking during our junior year of college when we stumbled upon each other at a little bar in Mexico. I referred to it here when I told you about my favorite beer! I truly did find my heart that day.

frontmommy&daddy

This piece is my favorite and the one I’m most proud of. My big little person, Maddie, drew this picture for me last month.

frontmaddiecollage

That’s her original drawing on the left and my rendition on the right. It makes me feel SO good (SO, SO, SO good!) that this is how she sees her dad and I. She knows that we love each other no matter what and I KNOW that that helps her to know how much she is loved.
front2002embroidery

Our little family began in 2002 when J and I got married. What a wonderful life we’ve had this past decade. I can’t wait to see what the next 5 decades bring!

frontribbonembroidery

Ok. This one isn’t symbolic or meaningful, but how cute are those little pom poms?! Plus it adds a splash of color.

frontfabricf

Our last name starts with an “F” so I think you can figure out the meaning of this one. I love this whole collection of fabric (designed by the oh-so-talented and fellow Las Vegan, Camille Roskelley).

frontbuttons

With the exception of one pack of little red buttons, these all came from my collection. And you know how we ladies are about our clothes. We love them. We know them well. I can identify what sweater, dress, pants, etc. almost each of these buttons came from. It brings back some memories of a few favorite outfits and especially some favorite shopping trips!

frontwoodf

Another monogram, this time an oval to break up the circles. I like contrast that the mix of paint and stain frames brings to this little spot.

frontstairview

This view from the stairwell is awesome. It feels good to come down in the morning and see all these reminders of the love I share with my family. The splash of color (instead of a dingy white wall) ain’t too shabby either.

frontdoorafter

So there it is. My spruced up, fantabulous foyer. I hope you like it as much as I do. I’m loving that it can move with me and that there is so much room to add more pieces! The sky is the limit!!! And if you have any questions about embroidery (I can tie a mean french knot!) email me or ask in the comments.

Thanks Sherry, Katie, Emily, and Renee for lighting a fire under my bootwah to finish this project.  I absolutely love the interest it adds to that spot and the personal touch that each piece has. Plus, I now know that I love doing embroidery! Did you attack something that you pinned for the Challenge? I’d love to hear about it! 

And I’m linking up!

wgw buttonThrifty-Thursday-Linky-Party-at-LivingWellSpendingLess.com_Weekend Bloggy Reading 

TDC Before and After
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
