Tags

, , , ,

I have finally embraced the maxi dress. I knew they would be a good fit for my lifestyle because I wouldn’t have to worry about everyone seeing what they shouldn’t be seeing if the wind caught me the wrong way or my little person needed to be picked up. And at 5′ 8″ a lot of the inexpensive dresses out there (hello Target) are a wee bit short on me (as an almost 33 year old… at 22 I’d rock those short skirts). Also, it appears a little more put together than my basic jean shorts and tank but with no more effort.

But for some unknown reason, I haven’t bought any. Until now. I bought 3 this past week! I wore this one yesterday and accessorized it with silver. It was the perfect weekday outfit for a sushi lunch date with my sis and my smallest little person.

green maxi dress @ Grace and Joy Girl

dress / purse (similar) / Old Navy sandals (similar) / bracelet (similar) / Target necklace (similar)

It’s funny because the color reminds me of the uniform my husband wears to work everyday. I always joke that he’s wearing pajamas and now I’ve got something just as comfortable!

This neutral green could go so many directions so I did a little virtual window shopping to change up the look.

First up, a classic. Gold.

gold summer accessories @ grace and joy girl

 arrow necklace / tassel necklace / sandals / pursebracelet

I LOVE each of these items and will be purchasing them all. Seriously. Already ordered both necklaces. I love the gold chain on the bag and think the gladiator-style sandal is so perfect for a maxi dress.

Then I went happy with a shot of hot pink.

pink accessories @ grace and joy girl

infinity scarf / parchment cuff / sunglasses / sandals / straw tote / spiked rope bracelet /  gold bangles / rope chain bracelet / green & gold suede bracelet

The hot pink is just so fun! I love the color-blocked sandal and tried to tone it down by choosing the straw tote. If you really want to go for it though, there is NO lack of neon pink bags out there right now. Phew. I’m going to be seeing neon pink in my sleep!

I couldn’t decide whether I wanted to take this look a little punk or keep it sweet. My resistance to getting older hardcore personality make me lean toward the mix of metal and leather bracelets with the pink aviators (and lose the straw bag… its definitely soccer-mom chic). But the (almost) 33 year-old in me says that I should go with the infinity scarf and the cuff. {sigh}

Speaking of that cuff, I’ve been eyeing it since I stumbled on it while Christmas shopping. It’s made of parchment that has vegetable peels layered in it. With this fern green dress I’d lean toward the watermelon/radish/zucchini combo. Isn’t that an amazing piece of wearable art?!

While I was lauding the merits of veggies as art, I was thinking about which look is more me and I’m going metal. I rock. {fistbump} Who needs infinity scarfs and veggie bracelets when they can wear bracelets that could potentially take out the eye of one of my little people? I live so dangerously.

So that’s what I’m wearing. What about you? And which look is your favorite? The warm gold? The pop of pink? Or my original silver choices? I like them all, but the silver is my favorite because all that stuff is already in my closet! {whoop whoop}

blogsignature

