Tags

, , , ,

Joker-ita: a classic margarita @ Grace and Joy Girl

When the days get longer and warmer, there is a lot more sitting and sipping done around my house. And when it gets to be 100+ degrees here in the desert, I want something refreshing. A margarita always comes to mind when I think of a nice cold drink and this simple version is the most delicious I’ve ever tasted.

It’s named the Joker-ita after the man who made it for me first. I come from a land of call signs (nicknames for you non-pilot folk… think Maverick, Iceman, or Goose) and our friend Joker served us this 3 ingredient beverage when we visited he and his awesome family around Christmas (miss you guys!).

No more sickly sweet, premixed stuff for us. Nope this is as simple as it gets and possibly the only way I’ll drink this beverage from now on. I present to you…

The Joker-ita!

Joker-ita: a classic margarita @ Grace and Joy Girl

1 cup tequila (we prefer the silver kind but whatever you got works)
6 limes, juiced
agave syrup, to taste
ice
drink salt (optional, but not if you know what’s good for you because I LOVE salt on my marg)
 

Serves 2. Or one person twice.

Pour 1 cup tequila into a shaker (yes, ours in a Nalgene bottle. It’s because I’m so rugged and outdoorsy). Also, we usually like 1800 Silver, but we’re currently trying out the Kirkland brand (because if we can buy it in a giant bottle we should, right!). And it tastes good. I haven’t had enough in one sitting (and lets hope I don’t test this out) to see if it causes a headache like vodka from a plastic bottle. And do as I say, not as I do. I realize there are 2 cups in this pic, but hey, sometimes I overserve.

Joker-ita: a classic margarita @ Grace and Joy Girl

Squeeze in the juice of 6 limes (if you use the bottled stuff, which you shouldn’t, cut this in about 1/2 to 3/4).

Joker-ita: a classic margarita @ Grace and Joy Girl

Squeeze in a little agave syrup. My guess is about 2 tablespoons, but you’ll have to figure this out on your own depending on your pucker power. If you like it super lime-y and tart, go light on the syrup! But by all means, put in as much as you want! It says right there on the bottle (scroll back up a few pictures, I’ll wait) that it’s “wholesome.” Try not to pour it all down the side of your “shaker” or later you’ll have to explain to your 5 year old why there’s syrup on her kid table when she knows that she ate cereal, not pancakes, for breakfast that morning.

Joker-ita: a classic margarita @ Grace and Joy Girl

Add some ice. Not too much cause you don’t want to water it down, just enough to give it a bit of a chill.

Joker-ita: a classic margarita @ Grace and Joy Girl

Shake that ish up!!! Again, no leakage with the Nalgene bottle and I think I look just as cool.

Joker-ita: a classic margarita @ Grace and Joy GirlNow, I realize that there are many of you in this world who do not like salt with your margarita. I think you’re stupid am willing to accept that you may skip this step.

The best way to add salt to a glass is to rub the garnish around the edge of the glass. I really go at it because I like A LOT of salt. But a quick swipe will do, as well. Then dip it in the little salt container. Turn it around a couple times in there. Did I mention I really like salt with my margarita?

Joker-ita: a classic margarita @ Grace and Joy Girl

Add a little ice to your glass, pour in your liquid concoction, and you’re all set!

Joker-ita: a classic margarita @ Grace and Joy Girl

And there you have it, The Joker-ita. I hope he doesn’t mind that I’m putting it out here for all the world to see. Maybe he doesn’t want me to share his secret recipe??? Too bad! He’s only 6 foot 5 (plus) and a bad mamma jamma. What’s he gonna do? Plus, his wife will protect me.

blogsignature

