Tags

, , ,

Ceiling fans. Le sigh. Not always the prettiest element in the room, but does the benefit outweigh the negatives?? I had that internal debate recently. Here’s how it played out…

Our new family room had no overhead light. There’s a bug-eye recessed bulb that is front and center over the fireplace, but otherwise, nada.

And I get that it’s meant to light artwork, but the TV connections are there and who wants a giant light glaring down at their TV? Silliness.

IMG_4562-0.JPG
So, I would be good with an overhead light only, but my better half is a fan guy. And I get it, I like a nice breeze and a little air movement as much as the next guy.

So I picked a fan for our bedroom super quick. Inexpensive, boob-light, nice wood tone. For some reason, that is not a detail in the bedroom that I have strong feelings about. I just hate waking up sweaty. And those of you that know me, know that I “glisten” when the temp hits 70.

But it took me almost 2 months to pick out the fan/fixture combo for the family room. I’m going for a retro-farmhouse-industrial-cottage vibe and that’s tough to find. Oh, unless you have $500 plus for a ceiling fan. And even then, it’s slim pickin’.

I finally ordered a Hunter fan and light kit.

IMG_4558-0.JPG
It’s the Savoy in black and 12″ Schoolhouse Globe, also in black. The light was back ordered for a while and after seeing all the blah options I know why. It was a bargain ($192 for both!) on Amazon and with our Prime 2-day shipping that made ordering through the big A a no-brainer (and it’s out of stock again. I’m telling you, it’s good stuff. You could get the weathered bronze and use a matte black paint if it continues to be unavailable. That was my back up plan).

This is a beautiful ceiling fan! I am In love with it. My husband hung it while I was out and he was worried because it is SO different than normal ceiling fan lights. It’s oversized and definitely doesn’t recede into the ceiling. He peeked out the garage door as I pulled in and shyly declared that he was finished and “eh-heh, hope you like it??” Have faith, oh cute-but-skeptical husband of mine.

IMG_4559-0.JPG
But I’m LOVING it and know it’s going to be even more awesome as I add other schoolhouse fixtures in the open kitchen and family room space. Oh, and the aforementioned husband loves it, too. Not just for its breezy ways, but also for its dashing good looks.

Next up, painting my existing curtain rods matte black and adding curtains to soften up those windows!

